top of page
Author Profile.png
Represented by:
Author Website:

Candas Jane Dorsey

Candas Jane Dorsey is the internationally-known, award-winning author of novels Black Wine (originally Tor 1997, 1998, re-released Five Rivers 2013) and Paradigm of Earth (2001, 2002, Tor); upcoming mystery series The Adventures of Isabel, What’s the Matter with Mary Jane? And The Man Who Wasn’t There (2020-2022 ECW); upcoming YA novel The Story of My Life, Ongoing, by C.J.Cobb (Inanna, 2021); short story collections Machine Sex and other stories (Tesseract,1988), Dark Earth Dreams(Tesseract/Phoenix Discbook, 1994), Vanilla and other stories (NeWest, 2000) and ICE and other stories (PS Publishing, 2018); four poetry books; several anthologies edited/co-edited, and numerous published stories, poems, reviews, and critical essays. She was editor/publisher fourteen years of literary press The Books Collective, including River Books and, for a time, Tesseract Books. She teaches writing to adults and youth, professional communications at MacEwan University, and speaks widely on SF and other topics. She was founding president of SFCanada, and has been president of the Writers Guild of Alberta. She has received a variety of awards and honours for her books and short fiction. In 2005 she was awarded the Province of Alberta Centennial Gold Medal for her artistic achievement and community work, and in 2017 the WGA Golden Pen Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Literary Arts. She was inducted into the City of Edmonton Arts and Cultural Hall of Fame in 2019. Other awards include the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame (2018), YWCA Woman of the Year Arts and Culture (1988), and an Edmonton Arts Achievement Award (1988). She is also a community activist, advocate and leader who has won two human rights awards and has served on many community boards and committees for working for neighbourhoods, heritage, social planning and human rights advocacy.

Twitter: @CJDwriter

Wayne negotiated a three book deal for Candas's award-winning Epitome Apartments mystery series, plus a backlist deal (also audio) for Black Wine, her first novel originally published in 1997. Wayne, along with Foreign Rights agent Milly Ruggiero, negotiated a German translation deal for three of Candas's backlist speculative fiction books and an unpublished novel (At the) Freak Show.

Completed and published works represented by the Rights Factory listed below. If blank, contact the listed agent for details.
TRF Text (White Horizontal).png
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Bluesky_edited
bottom of page