top of page
Author Profile.png
Represented by:
Author Website:

Nathan Elias

Nathan Elias is the author of the novel Coil Quake Rift and the short story collection The Reincarnations (Montag Press 2021/2020). His writing has been named a finalist for the 2022 National Indie Excellence Award, the 2022 Eric Hoffer Book Award, and The Saturday Evening Post 2020 Great American Fiction Contest. His short fiction, poetry, essays, and book reviews have appeared in publications such as PANK, Entropy, Hobart, Pithead Chapel, and Barnstorm.

Before devoting his creative life to writing fiction, Nathan worked in the film and television industry, and he wrote, directed, produced and acted in several independent films. After earning his dual B.A. in English (Creative Writing) and Film & Video from the University of Toledo in 2011, he worked for MTV, Paramount Pictures, and Nickelodeon Studios before moving to Los Angeles to work as a script reader and assistant for companies such as Jennifer Lopez Enterprises and Eclectic Pictures. While in Los Angeles, Nathan co-wrote, co-produced, and co-starred in the short films The Chest (2015) and Kleptos (2014), which appeared in film festivals such as Glass City Film Festival, Texas Independent Film Festival, and Canadian Film Centre’s SHORTSNONSTOP Film Festival. Nathan’s screenplays for film and television have also placed in Hollywood Screenplay Contest, New York Screenplay Contest, and Austin Film Festival.

In 2018, Nathan earned an MFA in Creative Writing with a concentration on Fiction from Antioch University Los Angeles, and he has been published widely in literary journals and magazines. He’s taught Creative Writing classes at organizations such as The Porch, Keep St. Pete Lit, Antioch University, and the University of Tampa. Currently, he’s at work on novels for Young Adults.



"Fast-moving and deeply felt stories, sharply envisioned and lit with humor and compassion. Nathan Elias writes like he's lived a thousand lives.”

— Ben Loory, author of Tales of Falling and Flying

“Nathan Elias’s fearless debut collection is a genre defying labyrinth of loss and heartache. From machines that might let you talk to the dead to pills that will make you fall out of love, these deft stories signal a tremendous talent in capturing what it means to be human in this or other realities.”

— Sequoia Nagamatsu, author of How High We Go in the Dark


"Coil Quake Rift deals, in an ambitious and imaginative way, with not only space, time, and memory, but also with the yearning we all have to love and be loved. Nathan Elias is a damn fine storyteller."

— Donald Ray Pollock, author of The Devil All the Time and The Heavenly Table

"In Coil Quake Rift, four characters connected by a history of love, betrayal, and loss, come together and fall apart in the aftermath of a devastating earthquake that opens a portal in space and time. With clear, confident prose, Nathan Elias sets these characters on a poignant and emotional metaphysical journey that forces them to grapple with regret and possibility; the destination is extraordinarily satisfying. Coil Quake Rift is a gift for anyone who has ever asked: what if?"

— Tiffany Quay Tyson, author of The Past is Never and Three Rivers

"Coil Quake Rift is a cinematic, contemplative, reality-bending page-turner deepened by its vivid Los Angeles setting and its intriguing questions about multiple universes and the afterlife."

— Andromeda Romano-Lax, author of Annie and the Wolves

Completed and published works represented by the Rights Factory listed below. If blank, contact the listed agent for details.
TRF Text (White Horizontal).png
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Bluesky_edited
bottom of page